Welcome to the Roanoke District!

Welcome to the website for the Roanoke District of The Virginia Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church.

The Roanoke District connects 69 United Methodist Churches in Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Montgomery and Roanoke Counties and the cities of Roanoke and Salem with the Virginia Annual Conference, the United Methodist Church and the World in ministry to others on behalf of Christ.  

The clergy and laity of the Roanoke District are supervised by a Conference appointed District Superintendent. The Virginia Conference is composed of 16 districts serving over 1,200 local United Methodist congregations across most of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Virginia Conference Bishop:  Sharma D. Lewis    
District Superintendent:  Kathleen Overby Webster
District Lay Leader:  Gary Morris
Associate District Lay Leaders:  Shirley Brown and Denise Pappas

Roanoke District Office

4502 Starkey Road SW   Suite 101
Roanoke, VA 24018-8538

Phone: 540-989-3335
Fax: 540-989-0672

Office Hours 
8:30 AM-4:30 PM, Monday-Friday              

From the District Superintendent

Posted on 15 September, 2019 by Kathleen Overby Webster
Leadership in the Midst of Change

Two leadership learnings I experienced this summer have me thinking...

First, as part of the Cabinet's annual retreat in July, we visited the new American Civil War Museum located at the Tredegar Iron Works in Richmond. This newly built museum is a result of the 2013 merger of the American Civil War Center and the White House and Museum of the Confederacy. A docent led us on an informative, though too brief, tour of the exhibits which tell the complex story including north and south, enslaved and free, male and female, soldiers and families, and the build-up to and the fall-out from. Following our tour, we were privileged to meet with the museum's CEO, Christy Coleman, for over 90 minutes, until well past the museum's closing time. What an incredible and fascinating conversation about leadership in the midst of change!